Something Simple

Since years I’ve been longing to write about my food experiments, experiences and musings in general. But, laziness, procrastination and work always got the better of me. Today I won! Though my dog is trying his best to deter me from doing so by refusing to budge from my lap and constantly licking my hands as I type. It takes a lot of constraint to not give him attention with his adorable attention seeking acts and sounds, people who have met him will agree.

Coming to the main topic here, FOOD! Very often in the quest of making something good or fancy we tend to use a lot combinations of spices, herbs, store bought and home made sauces.Which is alright as long as the dish turns out good and people like it.Most of the times we tend to dress our vegetables in sauces and spices that we forget their true natural tastes.A few weeks back while cooking for my 2 year old niece I realized, rather was reminded of just this through what I made.

Prepared Ingredients

When cooking for her we make sure not to use anything high on artificial flavourings,colours,preservatives ,sugar salt or spice (heat) factor,which doesn’t mean it has to be bland or boring. The little princess requested for noodles so it had to be done. I decided to use Soba (buckwheat) noodles as opposed to the usual white.To pack in as much nutrition possible I used a mix of vegetables like carrots,french beans,coloured peppers, onions, mushrooms and baby corn. And on the flavour front I just went with ginger, garlic,black pepper powder and toasted sesame seeds.

Black & White

The outcome was refreshing, light on the palate and simple flavours and each vegetable stood out as much as the other.Great potential to qualify as a quick fix and comfort food.No over powering taste of chillies,soy sauce or any other sauces.I could feel and taste each individual vegetable in a single bite.It turned out so good, I was keeping my fingers crossed for some left overs.

Had to send dinner for her tonight so made extra for myself!

Soba Noodles with toasted sesame

Ingredients:

1 bundle Soba noodles, cooked as per pack instructions

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

small piece ginger, finely chopped

1 carrot, cut into jullienes

1/2 green,red, yellow bell pepper , each cut into thin strips

handful of french beans, cut vertically into half, then horrizontally

5-6 Mushrooms, stem removed and thinly sliced

5-6 Baby Corn, cut into strips

3-4 Spring onions, white & greens seperate

1/2 tbsp each black & white sesame seeds, toasted

Black pepper and Salt to taste

1 tbsp oil

Method:

Heat a wok/kadhai and add the oil, followed by ginger, garlic and stir fry for a minute.

Add vegetables in order of cooking time, starting with the french beans,  carrots, baby corn,mushrooms,onions,peppers.

Stir fry for a few minutes till tender, add salt and pepper. Cook for a couple minutes.

Add the cooked noodles and mix well. Top with toasted sesame seeds, saving some for the garnish.

Add chopped spring onion greens and mix. Transfer to a serving bowl and sprinkle remaining sesame seeds.

4 Responses to “Something Simple”

  1. Congratulations. A great start. Remember well begun is half done. But Keep it going now! Good luck! R

  2. Good going Arina! And Thanks for the noodles 🙂 Keyah loved them as always!

  3. Welcome Arina! So glad to see that started this, and with a vegan dish! Wow! Soba noodles in one of my faves too.:) Good luck, dear!

Leave a comment